So yeah.

It’s been nearly a year since I last put finger to keyboard and meandered through a blank screen with my words. The reason for my absence? Laziness and the lack of any motivation mostly, and the fact my last post caused a certain good-natured soul to go to my boss and tell her that I was probably suicidal. Or something. To this day I have no idea who that good-natured soul was but seeing as I’d got into trouble over an earlier post I think my brain just decided nope and The Land of Oz was left floating, cold and alone, in the ether of… erm… wherever blogs go when they’ve been abandoned.

But, for some reason, the Inspiration Fairy has paid me a visit so here I am.

inspirationfairy
Yes, this is EXACTLY what the Inspiration Fairy looks like. No, I don’t care if you disagree.

So what have I been up to for nearly a year? Well, the highlights include becoming a dog owner for the second time and passing my driving test after an eighteen year abstinence (after the last test in 1997 – you don’t need to know how many there were in total – I just came to the conclusion that London had a perfectly good transport system thank you very much. I also had a job interview that day. I didn’t get that either). There’s a joke there somewhere about old dogs and new tricks but I’m too rusty with this blogging thing to come up with anything even remotely funny. Plus it’s been a long week and I’m tired.

Going back to the driving for a moment, I have no shame in admitting that buying a convertible VW Beetle was my mid-life crisis moment (and much more sensible than a boat or a motorbike I feel). She’s called Cilla and I love her. The dog’s called Molly and is as mad as a bag of hammers. And I love her too. Cilla, Molly and I have had lots of adventures together, most notably staying in a converted train carriage in the middle of a Suffolk field. Fun times. Our biggest adventure yet is due in the summer. We shall be mostly driving around the UK visiting all the places I’ve always wanted to see. We’ll keep going until the money runs out or I get bored. Hopefully it’s neither of those outcomes.

Anyway, the writing. Yes.

I’m not gonna make any promises about how often I’m going to blog or what I’m going to write about. I’m just gonna ease myself back into it and see what happens. It does feel good to be back here though, and I know certain people will be very happy to see the Land of Oz return. Those of you that aren’t, tough titty.

So that’s me done for now. I have sushi on the way and a week’s worth of TV to catch up on. And I have to feed the dog.

IMG-20141031-WA0000
Not Molly. But it might as well be.

 

