Along with millions of others around the world, i am single on Valentine’s Day.

heart2a

Now before you roll your eyes thinking this is gonna be yet another outpouring of vitriol by a bitter and twisted cynical forty-something who is one cat shy from being classified as a crazy cat lady (even though he’s a man), hear me out.

I have been in two serious long-term relationships, one being more long-term than the other. Both very different, both lots of fun, both totally missing any form of romance whatsoever.  I will give my respective partners their due ‘cos there were half-hearted attempts, but in all honesty they just fell flat. I tried, lord knows I tried, but my attempts to ignite their romantic flames were doused by the fire extinguisher of indifference. (I have no idea where the fire extinguisher analogy is coming from by the way, ‘cos neither of them worked for the emergency services.)

In case you were wondering, I am a romantic.

There, I said it.

I don’t care that it’s a money-making day for all the card manufacturers out there. I couldn’t care less that florists make a mint. More chocolate sales than any other day? So what? Restaurants having special set menus? Bring them on!

I want to be wined and dined. I want to be spoilt. I want roses and chocolates and champagne (even though I can’t stand the stuff) and intimate meals for two in cosy little bistros.

Now I know what most of you are thinking – ‘Yes Oz, but you can have that on any day of the year, not just on February 14th.’ – and to you I say take your poo-poos elsewhere. Yes, one can have that on any day of the year, I agree. But to be with a significant other, on that one day when love is celebrated world-wide (and forgetting all the economics of it for a moment), that is kinda special. Well I think so anyway.

My very good friend Mrs Beaver (you might remember her from this post) shared this with everyone on Facebook:

nickyvalentine
Mr Beaver not quite grasping that signing off as ‘Anon’ is kinda redundant seeing as his name is at the top. But even so – bless!

It’s from Mr Beaver, obviously. In her caption Mrs Beaver writes – ‘Still making me smile after 30 years’. How cute is that?

So this post is dedicated to all the romantics out there celebrating today with their special person, be it with text messages or flowers or meals.

For my part, I’ll be celebrating with the cats and a movie. I might even push the boat out and buy some chocolate.

Happy Valentine’s Day everyone!

xox

grumpyvalentine

