oomphOh shush.

Like it was ever gonna be in doubt that I would completely lose the oomph to maintain this blog.

The oomph has been seriously lacking these past few months. I have been oomph-less. There has been no oomph.

God I love that word.

OOMPH.

Right, now I have that out of my system, hello! Man it actually feels so good to be back. I have missed this, not gonna lie.

You know that feeling when you lose touch with a friend and the longer you leave it the more embarrassed you feel, and the more embarrassed you feel the more you put it to the back of your mind ‘cos dealing with it would be too cringe-worthy? But then when you do eventually get in touch with that friend (yes, it’s a long analogy but please bear with me) you realise that there really was nothing to feel embarrassed about in the first place?

Yeah, that’s kinda what it’s been like for me and this blog.

I have absolutely no idea what has spurred me to sit down and start writing again. In fact, I had planned to spend this evening in front of the telly eating my own body weight in Milkybar Giant Buttons (they are SO good!) and then going to bed feeling bitterly disappointed in myself and promising I would never do it again but knowing full well I will.

Maybe it’s just the right time for me to put pen to paper – or in this case, finger to keyboard – again.

Without wanting to get all existential I do have a strong belief in everything happening for a reason, even if that everything is shitty and makes you want to run around screaming “WHY FOR THE LOVE OF ALL THAT IS HOLY WHY?!” as you reach for the next bag of Milkybar Giant Buttons. Or maybe that’s just me.

Anyway, there have been quite a few WTF?! moments like that over the last few months. Which is probably why I haven’t had much head-space for things like sitting down and writing.

But here I am.

Yay!

I’m not gonna make any sweeping promises about keeping up-to-date with the blog ‘cos frankly I would only be lying. But now that I’ve written this my creative juices are once again flowing, so you never know.

So I guess the oomph is back here at The Land of Oz. To be honest it never really went away. It was just laying dormant waiting for the right moment to kick back in. The filing cabinet in my brain marked “Things to Write About” is actually overflowing with ideas so maybe I’ve sprung a leak.

Which actually sounds kinda icky now I’m thinking about it.

So to take your mind off of that rather bizarre mental image, I shall bid you adieu (for now) with one of my favourite cat GIFs. ‘Cos one can never have too many cat GIFs.

The Best Cat GIF Post In The History Of Cat GIFs

