lips2

So I had an interview today.

It was for the job I’m all ready doing, plus a little extra in terms of role and responsibility as well as something quite new.

It was really quite a bizarre experience being interviewed by people I’ve worked with and gotten to know since November. One of them – my boss no less – saw me dressed last week as Frank N Furter from The Rocky Horror Show. We did the Time Warp together. And then suddenly there I was today sat in front of her all suited and booted and answering very professional questions in a very professional manner. Well I think my answers were professional. I won’t know until tomorrow afternoon.

My career seems to have taken a strange, but not altogether unpleasant, turn. I have high hopes for this job (if I get it) and can’t help but feel big things are on their way.

Finally.

Having turned forty quite recently I’ve been somewhat preoccupied with the whole “So what now?” thing. I did a masters a few years ago in the hopes of changing career paths but was faced with – along with thousands of others – a job field suffering very badly from the recession and lord alone knows how many cutbacks. Luckily my original profession was one that I could fall back on, and that’s what I did. I eventually ended up in Singapore for a couple of years, but that’s a post for another time.

My line of work is one of those that means once you get to a certain age you become somewhat expensive. The younger fresh-out-of-the-box types become the more affordable option and unless you’re ensconced in a place of work you run the risk of being too pricey to employ elsewhere. It’s all about the fresh meat. Back in the day, before my masters, I never really worried about that stuff. But with the prospect of retirement being only twenty years away now (in theory anyway – the retirement age could be upped to ninety-five with the way things are going) I’ve been very aware that unless I do something soon to address the issue of my career I’m gonna have a very bleak future indeed.

Hence today’s interview.

And you know what? I actually feel like I’m where I’m supposed to be work-wise, and I haven’t felt like that for a very long time.

You never really know what life is gonna throw your way. A jump to the left perhaps. Or a step to the right. At the end of the day what will be, will be.

Somewhere along the way I lost sight of that. I’m glad I’ve found it again.